Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Appleton 52 Wing Restoration Committee
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2016
End Date
August 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Big Stone
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goal of this project is to provide live musical programs for the community with various styles of music. We also will provide an opportunity for local musicians to perform and demonstrate their skills and talent. We will count the number of audience members at the concerts weekly. At the end of the year, we will have audience members complete a brief survey.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We counted the attendees and had an evaluation form completed at the final concert. The concerts and bands received a 4.8 out of a possible 5 rating. The comments were all excellent and very positive. We averaged over 160 individuals for each concert.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Mary Lou Smith, Al Smith, Joanne Loher, Dale Lien, Molly Erickson, Ann Bonk
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
2016 Summer Concert Series
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Appleton 52 Wing Restoration Committee
Street Address
PO Box 52
Zip Code
(320) 289-2491
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Ellen Copperud: literature education, theatre; John Voit: music/theatre/education; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: arts advocate; Jane Nygaard: arts advocate; Ron Porep: arts administration.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471