Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Hutchinson Public Arts Commission
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
October 2015
End Date
June 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The impetus for this project was to provide a focal point in the cemetery, inviting any visitors to rest and meditate. The outcome for the Public Arts Commission is the introduction of a new, interesting and abstract art piece to our city’s permanent collection. The goal is to broaden the concepts of art to the public. Produce an online survey available through our website. Surveying visitors to the cemetery through the cemetery office.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Evaluating this program was the successful completion of the project, including having enough funds to pay the final costs.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Joshua Schroeder, Jon Otteson, Lena Mowlem, Barbara Bowman, Mary Christenson, Audrey Hollatz, Dan Jochum, Dolf Moon
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Cemetery Sculpture
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Hutchinson Public Arts Commission
Street Address
111 Hassan St SE
Zip Code
(320) 587-5151
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former HS English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mike Hulsizer: actor/theatre director; Deb Larson: visual artist; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southwest Minnesota State University business professor; Judy Marquardt: visual artist, theatre.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed