Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Spicer Beautification Committee
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
In Progress
Start Date
May 2015
End Date
September 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal is to have six well-attended summer music concerts in each of the next two years. We would like to see the number per concert grow from 125 to 150 or 175 attendees. We want the concerts to be well received as well, with attendees asking us for more concerts and/or recommending groups to us to consider. Our goal is to expose our audience to various genres of music, thus broadening their musical taste and appreciation. We will count and record how many people attend each concert. We will have an evaluation form to distribute at the sixth concert in which we will ask audience members to answer a few questions about their experience. We will also ask the musicians and the food vendors to complete an evaluation. At each concert our Spicer Beautification Committee members informally assess the value of that concert by chatting with attendees.

Description of Funds
Recipient Board Members
Leslie Valiant, Mary Wohnoutka, Sandy Saulsbury, Barb Ree, Ruth Trageser
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Music on the Deck - Spicer
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Spicer Beautification Committee
Street Address
PO Box 656
(320) 796-5562
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, Rhythm of the River; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian; Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts founding member; Susan Marco: writer, former HS English teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor SMSU; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Assn treasurer, Council of Arts & Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Christa Otteson: nonprofit evaluation consultant, arts advocate; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: arts advocate and volunteer, library board member; Mark Thode: photographer, Calumet Players board member; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board; John White: photographer, journalist, Big Stone Arts Council.