Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Marshall Area Stage Company
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2015
End Date
March 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Yellow Medicine
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal is to send the entire cast, crew and director to Minnesota Association of Community Theatres Fest for the duration of festival. The purpose of this goal is to educate our troupers to be better actors, crew members and potentially future responsible board members, here or other organizations in the future. We are also hoping to further network with other community theaters to share resources in the future that may not usually be accessible to Marshall Area Stage Company such as costume and set pieces. We will measure our success of our goals by having a written survey for our cast and crew to complete after taking part in the Minnesota Association of Community Theatres Fest regarding what they have learned and what skills they are confident in bringing back to Marshall.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We had 8 cast members, 2 tech people and 1 director attend the festival in some part. 6 members of Marshall Area Stage Company stayed for the remainder of the festival. Since then two Marshall Area Stage Company members have utilized the information learned at the singing workshop in Marshall Area Stage Company performances of Les Mis, one member used their skills in Southwest Minnesota State University's performance of Spamalot. Three Marshall Area Stage Company members have utilized skills learned in the Stage Fighting workshop in Marshall Area Stage Company performance of Les Mis. Two Marshall Area Stage Company members who attended the workshop on Non-Profit Administration are looking at which improvements can be utilized in with current administration and record retention.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Bob Schwoch, Dave Johnson, Maureen Keimig, Brent Lamfers
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Minnesota Association of Community Theatres Fest Travel Expenses
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Marshall Area Stage Company
Street Address
PO Box 321
Zip Code
(218) 290-3895
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Jane Link: visual artist , Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council Advisory Board; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, theater, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasure, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Cheri Buzzeo: Willmar Community Theatre manager; Mark Thode: photographer, Calumet Players board member; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board; Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southwest Minnesota State University business professor; Jane Link: arts advocate, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council board member; John White: photographer, journalist, Big Stone Arts Council.