Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Kandiyohi County Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2015
End Date
June 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Kandiyohi County Historical Society hopes to increase attendance and expose a new audience to the historical society. Kandiyohi County Historical Society hopes to increase the awareness of the many talented artists in Kandiyohi County. Kandiyohi County Historical Society hopes to educate the community on the different ways there are to document history and the importance of capturing the history in the present. Kandiyohi County Historical Society will keep and attendance count by having visitors sign a designated guest book. Kandiyohi County Historical Society currently counts everyone who comes in the museum, the staff and volunteers would keep a separate count for the community room. The awareness brought to the community about talented artists will hopefully increase in the number of exhibits Kandiyohi County Historical Society could hold in the future.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Kandiyohi County Historical Society kept attendance records and a guest book during the run of the exhibit. Kandiyohi County Historical Society keeps a daily attendance record and during the run of the exhibit Kandiyohi County Historical Society staff kept a separate attendance record. When comparing attendance during the same time frame in 2015, Kandiyohi County Historical Society had 355 more people visit the museum. Because this exhibit and the results of contact with the public, Kandiyohi County Historical Society is currently hosting the Little Crow Photography Club exhibit on water.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Dennis Peterson, Diane Shuck, Sam Modderman, Marilyn Johnson, Gregory Harp, Jerry Johnson, Louise Thoma, Darlene Schroeder, Audrey Thompson, Connie Wanner, Richard Falk
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Sacred Places: Churches in Kandiyohi County
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Kandiyohi County Historical Society
Street Address
610 Hwy 71 NE
Zip Code
(320) 235-1881
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, Rhythm of the River; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian; Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts founding member; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council of Arts and Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Olson: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Christa Otteson: nonprofit evaluation consultant, arts advocate; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: arts advocate and volunteer, library board member; Mark Thode: photographer, Calumet Players board member; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board; John White: photographer, journalist, Big Stone Arts Council.