Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dassel Area Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2015
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The project goals include supporting art and artists in the Dassel area as well as supporting economic development through arts and culture. The goals will be measured by requesting artists, business persons, and visitors to fill out brief surveys. The surveys will be distributed and collected with a personal visit from a committee representative.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Visitor Surveys -- 14 filled out: The comments from visitors were overwhelmingly positive. Almost everyone expressed amazement. We continue to hear great things. Participating Artist Surveysù24 distributed, 17 filled out: Several suggested a time for the artists to get together and see each other's work; many said, shorten the hours; wine and cheese from 4-6; prizes to visitors; music. Many positive comments were heard from artists about the venues and the whole day. Local Business Survey -- Eight distributed, three returned. All businesses verbally reported increased traffic and sales, and they would like to see it happen again.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
David Floren, John Sandstede, Dianne Johnson, Robert Wilde, Julie Lindquist, Jerry Bollman, Maribel Gilmer, Mary Jane Arens, Sherrie Bjork, Elaine Nordlie, Carolyn Holje, Lynda Peterson, Jena Levandowski, Sheryl Faust
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Discover Dassel Art Tour
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dassel Area Historical Society
Street Address
PO Box D
Zip Code
(320) 275-3077
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, Rhythm of the River; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian; Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts founding member; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council of Arts and Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Olson: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Christa Otteson: nonprofit evaluation consultant, arts advocate; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: arts advocate and volunteer, library board member; Mark Thode: photographer, Calumet Players board member; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board; John White: photographer, journalist, Big Stone Arts Council.