Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Buffalo Ridge Chorale
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
August 2015
End Date
June 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our quantifiable goal regarding the chorale is to maintain a membership of at least 30 for each concert, with 25 of those singers as consistent members. For the audience, our measurable goal is attendance of at least 150 at each concert. We want to maintain the numbers, but now move on to upping the ante regarding quality, while still remaining an accessible, non-auditioned group. Numbers in the Chorale and in the audience can simply be counted. There will be an evaluation sheet that the section leaders will use to provide feedback after the concert. We need to switch to evaluating the Chorale's growth rather than just audience reaction.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The section leaders were asked to fill out a questionnaire evaluating their section and the chorale as a whole. Audience attendance averaged 194, which was slightly more than we expected. Chorale membership continues strong at 43 members, and attendance at rehearsals was good.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Donna Kurth, Nancy Sandro, Nancy Aune, Roberta Trooien, Bev Johnson, Dana Crooks
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Concert Series with Soloist
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Buffalo Ridge Chorale
Street Address
48542 197th St
Zip Code
(605) 832-2651
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, Rhythm of the River; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian; Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts founding member; Susan Marco: writer, former HS English teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor SMSU; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Assn treasurer, Council of Arts & Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Christa Otteson: nonprofit evaluation consultant, arts advocate; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: arts advocate and volunteer, library board member; Mark Thode: photographer, Calumet Players board member; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board; John White: photographer, journalist, Big Stone Arts Council.