Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Hutchinson Public Arts Commission
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
February 2014
End Date
June 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We will build relationships with members of groups that have been underserved by the arts.Since this project is open-air and available to all who wish to see it, it is difficult to count the number of people viewing the art based on such measures like ticket sales. The tools used will be primarily through visits to the website, a poll in the local newspaper, and anecdotal comments. The schools will be encouraged to organize field trips to see the art, local businesses such as the bike shop will be asked to create bike routes that incorporate the sculpture stroll, and wellness groups will be asked to promote the stroll as part of a preventative health measure.

Measurable Outcome(s)

As this is open air and accessible to anyone free of charge, it is difficult to say how many people actively participate in the Sculpture Stroll. The placement of the sculptures are such that they are viewed regularly by anyone frequenting downtown Hutchinson. It is hoped that in 6 months we will have a clear measurable outcome to number of visits to the website. The local cable TV channel will also air a segment on the current statues which will stimulate interest.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Joshua Schroeder, Jon Otterson, Tinea Graham, Lena Mowlem, Barbara Bowman, Mary Christenson, Dan Jochum, Dolf Moon.
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Hutchinson Sculpture Stroll
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Hutchinson Public Arts Commission
Street Address
111 Hassan St SE
Zip Code
(320) 587-5151
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Jane Link: visual artist , Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council Advisory Board; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America, Lincoln County Pioneer Museum board; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Emily Olson: writer, musician, educator; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, theater, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Dan Connolly: musician, music educator, board Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasure, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board; Audrey Fuller; writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southewest Minnesota State University business professor; Dan Connolly: musician, music educator, board Renville Friends of the Arts; Barb Nelson, art teacher, vocal musician, children's theatre director; Cheri Buzzeo; production manager, Willmar Community Theatre; board member Willmar Area Arts Council; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: retired counselor, arts advocate, former fund raiser and musical performances coordinator for Worthington International Festival; Christa Otteson: Owner of Make.Do.Workshop, nonprofit consultant, former Regional Coordinator Minnesota Council of Non-Profits.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471