AirSpace Minnesota: Oral History Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
AirSpace Minnesota
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
September 2013
End Date
September 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
To document in 6-8 interviews the history of individuals who have been underrepresented in Minnesota's aviation and aerospace industry.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Historic Resources Advisory Committee Mark Peterson, Winona (Chair) - Executive Director, Winona County Historical Society - Governor's appointee to Minnesota Sesquicentennial and Minnesota Humanities Commissions - Qualified in history, historic preservation and history museum administration Leanne Brown, Eden Prairie - Director of Development, Carver County Library/Library Foundation - Formerly, Executive Director, Carver County Historical Society - Qualified in history, project management and museum studies Jack Byers, Minneapolis - Manager, Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development Department (CPED) - Manages CPED's Preservation and Design Section - Qualified in historic preservation, architecture, urban geography and planning Tamara Edevold, Bagley - Executive Director, Clearwater County Historical Society - Active in Minnesota's Historic Northwest, regional historical organization - Qualified in history, archaeology, anthropology and history museum administration Ram Gada, Eden Prairie - Engineer - Active in the documentation of Minnesota's East Indian community - State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB), former member - Qualified in engineering, energy consulting and grants administration William Latady, Tower - Bois Forte Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer - Curator, Bois Forte Heritage Museum - Qualified in archaeology, anthropology, historic preservation and history museum administration Benjamin Vander Kooi, Luverne - Attorney practicing as Vander Kooi Law Offices, P.A., in Luverne, MN - Active in Vote Yes! Campaign - Past chair, MN State Arts Board - Advisor, National Trust for Historic Preservation - Qualified in historic preservation, nonprofit and grants administration Brenda Child, Minneapolis - Chair, Department of American Indian Studies, University of Minnesota - Enrolled member, Red Lake Nation - Qualified in history, American Studies and American Indian Studies Nicole Foss, Bemidji - Executive Director, Beltrami County Historical Society, Bemidji, MN - Qualified in anthropology, historical archaeology, library and museum fields Kris Kiesling, Roseville - Director of Archives and Special Collections at University of MN Libraries - State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) member - Qualified in library and archives, digital services and history Jan Louwagie, Marshall - Coordinator, Southwest Minnesota Regional Research Center, Southwest Minnesota State University - Founding member of Society for the Study of Local and Regional History - Former member of State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) - Qualified in history and archival administration Ann Meline, Saint Cloud - Deputy Director, Stearns History Museum, St. Cloud - Formerly Assistant Director/Public Programs managing Exhibits, Collections and Education Departments - Former grant reviewer for Institute of Museum and Library Services - Qualified in history, nonprofit and museum administration Peter Reis, White Bear Lake - President, White Bear Lake Area Historical Society - Chair, Minnesota Historical Society's Grants Review Committee - Qualified in history and nonprofit and grants administration William Stoeri, Minneapolis - Ex-officio member (president of the MHS Board) Missy Staples Thompson, Saint Paul - Ex-officio member (treasurer of the MHS Board)
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Recipient Board Members
Noel Allard, Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame; John Andrews, Northern Star Council, Boy Scouts; Dr. Tom Bartoe, PTB & Associates Inc. and STARBASE Minnesota (Treasurer); Neil Brackin, General Mills; Clayton T. Cowl, MD, MS, Mayo Clinic; Don Craighead, DHC Enterprises; Bruce DeWitt, ATK; Dr. William Garrard, University of Minnesota and Minnesota Space Grant Consortium; Jeff Hamiel, Metropolitan Airports Commission; Gordon Hoff, Minnesota Business Aviation Association; Andrea Kajer, Minnesota Historical Society; Bruce Kitt, NWA History Centre; Dale Klapmeier, Cirrus Aircraft (Board Chair); Commander Chip Laingen, U.S. Navy (retired); Defense Alliance; William Lentsch, Delta Airlines; Sean McAfee, 3M; Brigadier General Mark Ness (retired)

Ann Novacheck, Lindquist & Vennum; Doug Paulson, Minnesota Department of Education; Don Piccard, Piccard Balloons; Eric Raarup, Avtex; Ray Rought, Minnesota Aviation and History Education Center; Brigadier General Dennis Schulstad (retired), Employer Support of the Guard & Reserve; Doug Spong, Carmichael Lynch Spong; Jana Vaughan, Airport Foundation MSP; Steve Wagner, Lake Superior College, MnSCU; Brad Westphal, Honeywell Aerospace; Lt. Colonel Richard Wiessner (retired), MN Air National Guard Historical Foundation; Elaine Wyatt, Girl Scouts of Minnesota and Wisconsin River Valleys
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
AirSpace Minnesota
Street Address
6975 34th Avenue South
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

345 W. Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155