2013 Minnesota Public Radio - Sesquicentennial Commemoration Grants

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2012
End Date
December 2012
Project Overview

MPR will broadcast a one-hour radio documentary on MPR NEWS, with concurrent postings to MPRNews.org that includes expanded features and professional photography.

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Under Minnesota Laws, 2012, Chapter 264, Article 5, Section 5
Appropriation Language

$80,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2013 from the arts and cultural heritage fund to the commissioner of administration for grants to public broadcasting organizations to develop programming that commemorates the sesquicentennial. Of this appropriation, $50,000 is for grants to the Minnesota Public Television Association and $30,000 is for public radio grants.

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)
  • MPR will then host an educational outreach session online that will allow educators from across the state to engage with the producer and the content experts in real-time
Measurable Outcome(s)
  • Hour long radio documentary broadcasted on-air twice
  • Website created with photography and additional informational resources
  • Education event to promote usage of materials and information in classrooms
Description of Funds
Through the competitive process MPR was awarded $15,000 of the available $30,000 public radio stations.
Recipient Board Members
Bradbury H Anderson, Vice Chairman, Best Buy Inc.; MaryAnn Baenninger, President, College of St. Benedict; Patrick J Denzer, LI Ventures, LLC; Janet M Dolan, President, Act III Enterprises; Elise Donohue; Ian Friendly; Executive Vice President & COO, US Retail, General Mills, Inc; Steve Fritze, Retired Executive Vice President & CFO, Ecolab, Inc.; Randall J Hogan, Chairman & CEO, Pentair, LTD.; Susan Kahn, Senior Vice President Communications, Target Corporation; Rick King, Chief Operating Officer-Technology; Thomson Reuters;
Emery Koenig, Senior Vice President, Cargill, Incorporated; C Douglas Kranwinkle, Exec Vice President, General Counsel, Univision Communications, Inc; Karin L Larson, Retired Chair, Capital International Research, Inc.;
William R McLaughlin, Retired President & CEO, Select Comfort; Marti Morfitt, CEO, River Rock Partners; Kate Mortenson; Dr Mary Nichols, Dean, College of Continuing Education, University of Minnesota; Richard B Payne, Jr, Vice Chairman, Corporate Banking, US Bancorp; James J Phelps, President, Northcrest Corporation;Robert Pohlad, The Pohlad Companies; James Prokopanko, President and CEO, The Mosaic Company; Paul Reyelts, Retired Executive Vice President, Finance & Chief Financial Officer, The Valspar Corporation; Steven M Rothschild, President, Invest in Outcomes; Robert Stephens, Founder, The Geek Squad; Samuel S M Wai, Treasurer, American Crystal Sugar Company
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota Public Radio
Street Address
480 Cedar Street
St. Paul
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

200 Administration Building
50 Sherburne Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155